Outstanding Oscar Speeches

by cerissadival

I am currently in tears after hearing Graham Moore’s speech about how he attempted suicide at age 16 and  encourages kids to stay weird, to stay them. I have never been so inspired. Yes the movie,

GrahamWinningLitCrawlCropped_400x400

not my photo

The Imitation Game deserved the award but I believe it was meant to be. A higher power permitted this man to give his speech to inspire suffering outsiders around the world. It was meant to be. That speech had to happen. The world had to hear it. The amount of bravery and courage it took for Graham to get up on that stage and mention a time of pain on an international awards ceremony show was enormous, I praise him for it.

common_john_legend_golden_globes_stage

not my photo

John Legend and Common Selma gave a remarkable performance and speech for racism. The speech was moving and beautiful. The speech had the crowd in tears. Chris Pine was shown crying and at the end of the performance he shot up clapping furiously, as did the rest of the crowd.Both the speech and performance of the song Glory well deserved the standing ovations.

the-theory-of-everything-eddie-redmayne-stephen-hawking-2

not my photo

When Eddie Raydeman won his Oscar for The Theory of Everything I had never been happier witnessing the amount of joy that he portrayed. He shook with excitement and thanks during his entire speech. He dedicated his speech to patients and families with love ones suffering form ALS which I thought was beautiful. He deserved the award and for the large kiss he gave his wife when he won, he definitely deserves a “one night off from listening to me complain” pass.

image

not my photo

image

not my photo

Now…Patricia Arquette. PATRICIA ARQUETTE, proudly stood on that stage with the world staring her down and defended all women around the world. Sexism is a large issue in today’s society and women need to take a stand. Meryl Streep and Jennifer Lopez leaped from their chairs out of happiness as Patricia Arquette and I would like to believe every women hearing that speech did the same. I sure did! I’m so proud to be a female in this world, I will fight for change.

All of the speeches tonight were very beautiful. The show was amazing and I do no regret staying up till midnight to watch the entire thing.